Aegis Juris frat leader cited in contempt

Aegis Juris fraternity president Arvin Balag has been cited in contempt by the Senate Committee on Public Order and Dangerous Drugs.

This after he refused to confirm if he is the president of the fraternity.

Aegis Juris is the fraternity that conducted the fatal hazing on University of Santo Tomas freshman law student Horacio Castillo III.

During Wednesday’s hearing, Senator Grace Poe moved to cite Balag in contempt.

This request was promptly approved by Senate Committee Chairman Panfilo Lacson.

Lacson ordered the Senate Sergeant-at-Arms (OSAA) to take custody of Balag after today’s Senate hearing.

He warned Balag that he would be detained at Pasay City Jail.

Lacson, however, said he would withdraw his order if Balag would change his mind and answer simple questions from lawmakers.

Other fraternity members are also appearing in the Senate probe but just like Balag, they are also invoking their right against self-incrimination.

They include Jay Onofre, Axel Hipe, Mark Ventura and Ralph Trangia.